13.04.2011 21:00 - 23:00


The concert programme features the most abstract part of the composer’s oeuvre: his works for chamber ensemble. It includes representative samples of his writing for a variety of groupings (solo, trio, quintet, sextet). Although they are not programmatic, the works are bound up with Aperghis’ music theatre work: Movement pour quintette (‘vocal’ use of instruments and theatricality in their interrelationships), Parlando (the double bass imitating the human voice), Faux movement (which borrows its title from the language of the body) etc. The programme covers the extensive period since 1975, and reveals a soundscape marked by explosive vigour, dynamism and virtuosity as well as humour and a childlike playfulness.

Mouvement per quintett
for clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano (1974), 13’

Faux Mouvement
for string trio (1995), 12’

for solo Contrabass (2009), 9’

for clarinet, cello and piano (1996), 15’

La Nuit en Tête
for soprano, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion and piano (2000), 14’

flute: Jannis Anissegos
clarinet: Alexandros Stavridis
violin: Thodoris Patsalidis
viola: Chara Seira
cello: Vassilis Saitis
contrabass: Yiannis Chatzis
piano: Lenio Liatsou
percussion: Thodoris Bazakas
soprano: Petra Hofmann
conductor: Vladimiros Symeonidis